Getting a conceal and carry permit for a firearm has become more and more popular. A majority of the states in the US have passed laws that allow someone to carry a concealed weapon, as long as you have a permit.
However, not all laws are the same in each state. This is unfortunate because a conceal carry permit might be legal in one state, but not the next.
It is crucial to know the laws of any state you are planning on carrying your firearm in. If you are traveling be sure to know the laws of each state you have to travel through. You must carry your permit at any time you are carrying your weapon. The United States Conceal Carry Association website is an excellent place to get detailed conceal carry laws for each state(source).
Before you can carry a concealed weapon, you have to get that longed-for permit. This article is about what will disqualify someone from getting a concealed carry permit in most states. Remember, laws can vary from state to state, but in general, these are the basic situations that will disqualify someone from getting a concealed carry permit.
Underage for your state
If you are under the age of 18, you will not qualify for a CCW permit. A handful of states allow permits at 18 years of age. Missouri is the only one who requires you to be 19.
Vermont does not require a CCW permit at this time, but be sure to check for any updated laws. The rest of the states require you to be 21 years old. This is one reason a permit may be legal in one state but not in another.
Below is a chart of what states allow CCW permits at what age. This information was obtained on the United States Conceal Carry Association website.
|Conceal Carry at 18||Conceal Carry at 21|
|North Dakota||District of Columbia|
|Conceal Carry at 19||Kentucky|
|NO Conceal Carry permit||Minnesota|
|New York and New York City|
2.Metal ability requirements/physical requirement
Anyone who has been judged mentally incompetent by a court will not be able to get a Conceal Carry Weapon permit. A physical limitation that makes it unsafe to handle a firearm will also disqualify you.
Anyone who holds a non-residence status in the United States will not be eligible. Additionally, you have to be a residence of the state where you are applying for your permit. Once you get your state’s permit, you can use it in some other states, but not all. Be sure to know what states will accept your CCW permit.
You must take a certified firearms training course, which is conducted by an accredited instructor. You can find a list of instructors in your state on the USCCA website.
A felony will automatically eliminate any chance of getting a concealed carry permit. The only exception to this is if the convicting authority has restored your firearm and civil rights.
Drunk Driving Convictions
There should not be two or more DUI convictions in the last three years on your record.
If you were convicted of violating a controlled substance law, have multiple arrests for these types of offenses, or a record of substance abuse, you will be disqualified.
4.Convictions of violence
Any injunction against repeat violence or a domestic violence injunction will also keep you from getting your CCW permit.
Fugitive from justice: Having warrants for your arrest and running away from the law, will definitely be grounds for disqualification.
Dishonorable discharge: If you were dishonorably discharged from the armed forces, you will not be allowed to get a CCW permit.
Some Violent Misdemeanor Charges
In general, a violent misdemeanor conviction will disqualify you. These can be assault, child endangerment, menacing, negligent assault, and resisting arrest. If the misdemeanor is expunged, it may or may not affect your qualification, depending on your state’s laws.
We mentioned the basic requirements that all of the states have in common. It by no means is conclusive for each individual state. It is important to remember that each state has its own laws and some different requirements. We encourage you to research the laws of your state.
Furthermore, if you are traveling, be sure to check which states will honor your permit and which will not honor it. The United States Conceal Carry Association has a map that shows which states honor which permits.